The 2016 Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire Winners (France)

    Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire (Great Award of the Imaginary) is a French award for speculative fiction created in 1974 by the writer and critic Jean-Pierre Fontana at the Clermont-Ferrand Festival of Science Fiction. It’s the oldest still active french literary prize and it covers science fiction, fantastika, fantasy, various fusions of these sub-genres and transfictions

    Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire (Great Award of the Imaginary) is one of the most important European SF&F Awards.

    Originally titled “Grand Prix de la Science-Fiction Française” (Great Award of the French Science Fiction), it was renamed Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire in 1992, which corresponds to an extension of its jurisdiction.

    The Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire (GPI) is the oldest French SFF award still active – since 1974 – as well as the most prestigious devoted to “Literature of the Imagination”. The term „imaginaire” (imaginary) covers all “pulp fictional types” such as science fiction, fantasy, fantastika, horror as well as various mergers or “transfictions” as some non-mimetic elements sliped insidiously into the mainstream.


    The Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire is presented in May at the Étonnants Voyageurs (Amazing Travellers – International Book & Film Festival) in Saint-Malo : 14-16 of May 2016.

    Each year, the jury composed of specialists (writers, critics, journalists, translators: Joëlle Wintrebert, Jean-Luc Rivera, Pascal Patoz, Bruno Para, Jean-Claude Dunyach, François Angelier, Sandrine Brugot-Maillard, Olivier Legendre, Jean-Claude Vantroyen), is rewarding the best SF&F published in French from several categories, the number has changed over the years. To date, these categories are ten.

    The Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire winners will be celebrated on the 15th May 2016 during the Étonnants Voyageurs (Amazing Travellers) Festival from Saint-Malo (Bretagne/Brittany, France, 14th to 16th of May 2016).

    And the winners are :

    Francophone Novel :

    Laurent Genefort – Lum’en (Le Bélial’)

    International Novel :

    Andri Snær Magnason/Iceland – LoveStar (Zulma)

    Francophone Short Story:

    Laurent GenefortEthfrag (Bifrost Magazine n° 78)

    International Short Story:

    Ken Liu/USA – The Paper Menagerie/La ménagerie de papier (Le Bélial’)

    Francophone Youth Novel:

    Les Fiancés de l'hiver Couverture

    Christelle Dabos – La Passe-miroir/Through the Mirror, vol. 1 & 2 (Gallimard)

    International Youth Novel :

    David Hofmeyr/UK – Stone Rider (Gallimard)

    Jacques Chambon Award for Translation :

    Jacques Barbéri for L’Evangile selon Eymerich/Rex tremendae maiestatis (2010) by Valerio Evangelisti/Italy (La Volte)


    Wojtek Siudmak Award for a Book Cover Illustration


    Laurent Gapaillard – La Passe-miroir : Les fiancés de l’hiver (1) & Les Disparus du Clairdelune (2)/Through the Mirror (1 & 2) by Christelle Dabos (Gallimard)


    Effets spéciaux : deux siècles d’histoires/Special Effects: Two Centuries of Stories by Pascal Pinteau(Bragelonne Press)

    Special Award

    Natacha Vas-Deyres and Richard ComballotCarnets chronolytiques de Michel Jeury/Michel Jeury’s Chronolythic Diaries  (Presses Universitaires de Bordeaux)




    Latest articles

    Related articles