Home News The 2014 Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire Winners !

The 2014 Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire Winners !


The Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire (Great Award of the Imaginary) is a prestigious European Award dedicated to the speculative fiction,  a french literary prize created in 1974 by the writer and critic Jean-Pierre Fontana at the Clermont-Ferrand Festival of Science Fiction. It’s the oldest still active SFF french award and it covers science fiction, fantastika, fantasy, various fusions of these sub-genres and transfictions.

Originally titled “Grand Prix de la Science-Fiction Française” (Great Award of the French Science Fiction), it was renamed Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire in 1992, which corresponds to an extension of its jurisdiction.

The winners of the 2014 french Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire (Great Award of the Imaginary) had been announced :

Francophone Novel

Anamnèse de Lady Star” (Lady Star’s Anamnesis) by L.L. Kloetzer (Denoël, Lunes d’Encre)

Foreign Novel

“The Man Who Spoke Snakish” (L’Homme qui savait la langue des serpents)  by Andrus Kivirähk (Estonia) ; Le Tripode Publishing House

Francophone Short Story

Day Thomas 7 secunde

7 secondes pour devenir un aigle” (7 Seconds to Become An Eagle) (collection ) by Thomas Day ( Belial’)

Foreign Short Story

Complications“/”Silver Wind” ( collection ) by Nina Allan ( UK) ; Tristram Publishing House

Young Adult Francophone Novel

Animale. La Malédiction de Boucle d’or” (Animal. The Goldilocks’ Curse) by Victor Dixen (Gallimard Jeunesse)

Foreign Young Adult Novel


Maggot Moon” (Une Planète dans la tête) by Sally Gardner ( UK) ;  Gallimard Jeunesse Publishing House

Jacques Chambon Award for Translation

Bernard Sigaud for “Complications“/Silver Wind (collection) by Nina Allan (UK ; Tristram Publishing House )

Wojtek Siudmak Award for Illustration

Didier Graffet for the cover’s illustration of “Steampunk – De vapeur et d’acier” (Steampunk – From Steam and Steel) by Xavier Mauméjean ( Le Pré clerics )


Souvenirs de l’empire de l’atome” ( Memories from the Atom’s Empire) by Alexandre Clérisse & Thierry Smolderen (Dargaud )


The Arms Peddler” ( volumes 1-6 ) by Kyoichi Nanatsuki & Night Owl (Ki-oon)


Souvenirs du futur. Les Miroirs de la Maison d’Ailleurs” ( Memories of the Future. The Mirrors of the House of Elsewhere)  – editors Marc Atallah, Frédéric Jaccaud and Francis Valéry (Presses Polytechniques et Universitaires Romandes)

Special Award

Bragelonne Ankama

The simultaneous edition of the Stefan Wul’s works at Bragelonne Publishing House (L’Intégrale Stefan Wul) and ” The Universe of Stefan Wul” at Ankama Publishing House, the comics adaptations of novels by D. Cassegrain, Mr. Hawthorne , D. Lapiere,  J.-D.Morvan, M. Reynes, O. Vatine, Yann.

The public presentation of the Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire will take place on Sunday, the 18th of June 2014 at the Maison de l’Imaginaire (The House of the Imaginary), during the  Saint-Malo Étonnants Voyageurs Festival  (Amazing Travellers, France) followed by a cocktail in the presence of the winners.




Previous articleAn Interview with the Digital Magazine miNatura’s editors Carmen Rosa Signes Urrea and Ricardo Acevedo Esplugas by Ricardo Manzanaro (Spain)
Next articleThe 2014 Rosny-Aîné Award’s Nominees (France) !


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.