The 2014 British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Awards : The Nominations


    The British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) announced the shortlist for its annual BSFA Awards for works first published in 2013. The BSFA has been running the awards since 1970, awarding the first Best Novel award to John Brunner’s 1969 novel “Stand on Zanzibar”.

    The BSFA Awards are literary awards presented annually since 1970 by the British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) to honour works in the anglophone genre of science fiction (british and US, with two exceptions, Aliette de Bodard and Lavie Tidhar). Nominees and winners are chosen based on a vote of BSFA members. More recently, members of the Eastercon (British National Science Fiction Convention) convention have also been elibigle to vote.

    The British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) awards are presented annually by the British Science Fiction Association, based on a vote of BSFA members and – in recent years – members of the British National Science Fiction Convention, Eastercon. They are fan awards that not only seek to honour the most worthy examples in each category, but to promote the genre of science fiction, and get people reading, talking about and enjoying all that contemporary science fiction has to offer.

    The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the Satellite4 Eastercon convention the Crown Plaza Hotel, Glasgow Sunday 20th April 2014.

    BSFA Award Trophy 1

    Here’s a sample of a BSFA Trophy ! (Photograph © David Langford) :

    in my humble opinion it’s not only a kitsch, it’s also a horrible artefact consisting of tortured books, but being genre books, the trophy’s creator probably considered that they deserve it !)

    BSFA Prize-winners will receive a coveted BSFA trophy. Also in the ceremony will be the annual James White Award announcing its short story competition winner.
    The BSFA Awards draw on nominations from their membership, and in the case of the Best Novel Award are open to UK publications only.

    No man but a blockhead ever wrote, except for money.” – Samuel Johnson

    Best Novel

    mcauley4 The Adjacentmackack Ancillary Justice Gods-War

    “Evening’s Empires” by Paul McAuley, UK author (Gollancz)
    “The Adjacent” by Christopher Priest, UK author (Gollancz)
    “Ack-Ack Macaque” by Gareth L. Powell, UK author (Solaris)
    “Ancillary Justice” by Ann Leckie, US author (Orbit)
    “God’s War” by Kameron Hurley, US author (Del Rey)

    Best Short Fiction

    Spin” by Nina Allan,UK (TTA Press)
    Saga’s Children” by E. J. Swift, UK (The Lowest Heaven, Pandemonium)
    Boat in the Shadows Crossing” by Tori Truslow, UK (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)
    Selkie Stories are for Losers” by Sofia Samatar, US (Strange Horizons)

    Best Artwork


    Cover for Tony Ballantyne’s “Dream London” by Joey Hi-fi (Solaris)

    Metropolis poster

    Poster for “Metropolis” by Kevin Tong (

    Angel rain

    The Angel at the Heart of the Rain” by Aliette de Bodard, illustration by Richard Wagner (Interzone #246)

    Best Non-Fiction

    “Wonderbook” by Jeff VanderMeer, US (Abrams Image)

    Going Forth by Night” by John J. Johnston, UK (Unearthed, Jurassic):
    Sleeps with Monsters” by Liz Bourke, Ireland (

    BSFA logo2


    Latest articles

    Related articles