Home News Swedish Film “Border” (Gräns), 2018

Swedish Film “Border” (Gräns), 2018


“An exciting, intelligent mix of Fantastika, romance, Nordic noir, social realism, and supernatural horror that defies and subverts genre conventions. A Wacky, Wild Instant Cult Classic!”

“Border” (Gräns) is a 2018 Swedish drama film directed by Ali Abbasi with a screenplay by Abbasi, Isabella Eklöf and John Ajvide Lindqvist based on the short story of the same name by John Ajvide Lindqvist from his anthology “Let the Old Dreams Die“.

Without wanting to give too much away there is a provocative banging of heads when it comes to political ideology and amid all the horror and outrage ‘Border’ unexpectedly summons up a generous spirit.”

It was screened in the “Un Certain Regard” section at the 2018 Cannes Film Festival, where it won the “Un Certain Regard Award”.

Cast: Eva Melander (Tina), Eero Milonoff  (Vore), Viktor Åkerblom  (Ulf), Matti Boustedt (Tomas), Jörgen Thorsson (Roland),  Andreas Kundler  (Robert), Joakim Olsson (Tourist).

The mix of genres may seem delirious and, in fact, it does not hide its openly fantastic dimension… It is mesmerising in its initial oddness and develops into a complex, richly satisfying piece of storytelling in which all the seemingly jagged, awkward edges eventually fit smoothly together.”

Trailer 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpwPp0DYyg0

Trailer 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPGn6zCV4zA

From left: finnish actor Eero Milonoff  (Vore), film director Ali Abbasi, swedish actor Eva Melander (Tina).

Let the Old Dreams Die

Swedish book cover for Låt de gamla drömmarna dö
AuthorJohn Ajvide Lindqvist
Original titlePappersväggar (Paper Walls)
Låt de gamla drömmarna dö
PublisherQuercus Publishing

Let the Old Dreams Die is a short story collection by John Ajvide Lindqvist. The bulk of the stories were originally published in Sweden in 2005 under the name Paper Walls. Quercus published the first English-language release in 2011, with the addition of the title story Let the Old Dreams Die

The title story is a sequel to Lindqvist’s novel Let the Right One In. Also included is The Final Processing, a sequel to Lindqvist’s Handling the Undead.


  1. Border (“The Border” tells of a customs agent whose relationship with a suspected smuggler uncovers extraordinary truths about the agent’s heritage)
  2. A Village in the Sky
  3. Equinox
  4. Itsy Bitsy
  5. The Substitute
  6. Eternal/Love
  7. To Put My Arms Around You, to Music
  8. Majken
  9. Final Processing
  10. Tindalos (currently only collected in the US edition)
  11. Let the Old Dreams Die (collected in the UK and US editions, published separately in Sweden)

The Swedish Fantastika writer John Ajvide Lindqvist first became popular in this country when his vampiric fictional debut, “Let the Right One In“, was made into a cult film by director Tomas Alfredson.

Previous article“Japan-ness. Architecture and urbanism in Japan since 1945” Exhibition in Metz,France at Centre Pompidou
Next articleThe Winners of the DSFP (German Award on Science-Fiction) 2018


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.