Neuchâtel Fantastic Film Festival, Switzerland

    Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival

    The Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF) is a Swiss film festival dedicated to fantastic movies. It was created in 2000 by a group of friends and is now renowned nationally and internationally as an unavoidable reference in genre cinema. The NIFFF defines itself through a rich and diversified programming, constructed around three central axes : Fantastic cinema, Asian cinema and Digital images. The films shown at the Festival are very diversified, going from worldwide expected movies by renowned directors to unknown and underground films d’auteurs. Famous fantastic film directors have already honored the NIFFF with their presences, including George A. Romero, Joe Dante, John Landis, Terry Gilliam, Hideo Nakata.

    The NIFFF offers five competitions : an international competition, an Asian competition, a Best Swiss Short Film Competition, a Best European Short Film Competition and a Swiss Video Art Competition entitled Actual Fears and inaugurated in 2008.

    Since its creation, the NIFFF has been programmed each year during the first week of July, except in 2001. In 2008, the NIFFF celebrates its eighth edition and counts amongst the major cinematographic events in Switzerland, supported by the Swiss Federal Office of Culture.

    Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF), Switzerland,  has rocked the city to the ground, welcoming cult guests such as Roger Corman, Phil Tippett, Dario Argento, Ray Harryhausen, Stuart Gordon, Shinya Tsukamoto, Tobe Hooper, Marc Caro and many more.

    Now one of the most important film festivals in Switzerland, NIFFF gives away the “Narcisse” Award by Oscar Winner H.R.Giger, the famous designer of Alien. After The Bothersome Man in 2006, You, the Living by Roy Andersson won the Narcisse award in 2007, leading a high profile selection of over 70 features and shorts, all presented in Swiss or International Premiere.

     NIFFF holds various sections, from its International Competition for fantastic features to special programs and workshops devoted to Special Effects and the Digital Image. With two Competitions for feature films (fantastic and Asian) and its side programs the event offer the best platform to promote Fantastic and Asian recent productions in the country.

    2014 NIFFF Winners :


    H.R. Giger «Narcisse» Award for the Best Film: Housebound by Gerard Johnstone, New Zealand

    Silver Melies for the Best Fantastic Film: Blind by Eskil Vogt, Norway

    Imaging The Future Award Best Design Production: The Mole Song : Undercover Agent Reiji by Takashi Miiike, Japan

    Best Asian Movie Award: Yasmine by Siti Kamaluddin and Chan Man-Ching, Brunei

    International Critic’s Award & Youth Award Denis-de-Rougemont: It follows by David Robert Mitchell, US

    What We Do in the Shadows poster.jpg
    Audience RTS Award : What We Do in the Shadows – Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi, New Zealand


    H. R. Giger “Narcisse” Award for the Best Swiss Short – SSA/Suissimage Competiton and Silver Méliès Award for the Best European Fantastic Short: Lothar by Luca Zuberbühler, Switzerland

    Taurus Studio Award for Innovation: Pappkameraden by Stefan Bischoff & Stephan Wiki, Switzerland


    Guests of Honor :


    George R. R. Martin (US)

    and Kevin Smith (US)


    Edouard Waintrop, director of the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes and Grütli cinemas

    Luigi Cozzi, director (Starcrash, Contamination, Hercules)

    Julie Baines, British producer (Triangle, Creep)

    Júliús Kemp, director (Reykjavik Whale Watching Massacre, NIFFF 2010)

    Alan Jones, artistic director: Film4 Frightfest (UK)

    Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF)

    Passage Max. de Meuron 6, 2000 Neuchâtel, Switzerland

    Festival Director: Anaïs Emery
    Federation Contact: Anaïs Emery

    Pics©NIFFF (courtesy of)


    Latest articles

    Related articles