Manchester Writing Competition Short List (UK)

    Manchester Writing Competition 2015 : International finalists for £10,000 Poetry and Fiction Prizes revealed

    SF writer Richard W. Strachan’s “Zero Moment Point” is one of five shortlisted stories for the 2015 Manchester Writing Competition.

    Since its launch in 2008, Carol Ann Duffy’s Manchester Writing Competition has attracted more than 10,000 submissions from over 50 counties and awarded £95,000 to its winners. The Competition was designed to encourage new work and seek out the best creative writing from across the world, establishing Manchester as the focal point for a major international prize.

    The Manchester Writing Competition was established by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy in 2008, funded in the first instance by the Manchester Metropolitan University’s innovative Enterprise Fellowship scheme. The project was designed to attract the best new writing from around the world, and to establish Manchester as the focal point for a major literary award. Since it began, the Competition has awarded more than £95,000 to its winners. These are the UK’s biggest literary awards for unpublished writing.

    Initially, the Competition alternated annually between Poetry and Fiction but, from 2013, both will be running every year, with £10,000* awarded to the writer of the best portfolio of poetry, and another £10,000* to the writer of the best short story. A new Writing for Children Prize was launched in late 2013, with prizes awarded at the Manchester Children’s Book Festival.

    The winners of this year’s £10,000 Manchester Poetry and Fiction Prizes will be revealed at a glittering ceremony on Friday 27th November – the Manchester Writing School’s first public event at its new home, Number 70 Oxford Street.

    short list

    Richard W. Strachan lives in Edinburgh (Scotland, UK). He writes book reviews for The Herald and the Scottish Review of Books, and has had short stories printed in magazines like Interzone, Litro and New Writing Scotland, amongst others, and by Galley Beggar Press as part of their ‘Singles Club’ digital list. He won a New Writer’s Award from the Scottish Book Trust in 2012.

    Read online Richard W. Strachan’s “Zero Moment Point” :


    Latest articles

    Related articles