Home News Kurd-Laßwitz-Award: The Winners 2016

Kurd-Laßwitz-Award: The Winners 2016


The Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis (=KLP) is an annual German science-fiction award. It is named after the author Kurd Laßwitz, who is also known as “the father of German science-fiction”. The award has a tradition back until 1980. In two ballots persons who are specialists on science-fiction like authors, editors, publishers and journalists vote for the best works that have been published in the previous year. Nominations are for works in German language only (the nationality of authors and other nominees is irrelevant) or for translations into German.


Now here are the winners for 2016 – note that the last word mentioned is the name of the publishing house:

Best Novel:

Andreas Brandhorst: “Das Schiff” (Piper)

Best Short Prosaic Work:

Karsten Kruschel: “Was geschieht dem Licht am Ende des Tunnels?” (published in: “Nova” 23, Amrûn)

Best Foreign Work (translated into German in 2015):

Neal Stephenson: “Amalthea” (Manhattan) [original title: “Seveneves”]

Best Translation:

Eva Bauche-Eppers for the translation of China Miéville: “Das Gleismeer” (Heyne) [original title: “Railsea”]

Best Cover Picture /Illustration:

Dirk Berger for the cover of “Nova” 23 (Amrûn)


Best Radioplay:

“Sale” by Georg Heinzen (WDR)

Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements (One time):

Hannes Riffel & Sascha Mamczak & the Golkonda-Team for continuing their science-fiction yearbook

Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements (Over years):

Roger Murmann & Christian de Ahna & Birgit Fischer & Kurt Zelt for 30 years of Buchmessecon


Previous articleFantasticon 2016 : 11th – 12th June 2016, Copenhagen, Denmark
Next articleThe Spanish Writer Elia Barceló Interviewed by Rachel Cordasco
Nina Horvath has studied at the University of Vienna. Her mother tongue is German. She is a keen author of short stories and published over two dozens in zines and anthologies. Her favourite genre is science-fiction. She had also been editor of the short story collections "Die Schattenuhr", "Metamorphosen - Auf den Spuren H.P. Lovecrafts" and "Darwins Schildkröte". In 2012 she won the awards "Vincent Preis" for the best horror anthology and the "Deutscher Phantastik Preis" for the best fantastic short story. (This one was also 3rd at the "DSFP" for the best science-fiction story.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.