Home On the spot Kurd Laßwitz Award: Nominations 2014

Kurd Laßwitz Award: Nominations 2014


The Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis is an annual German science-fiction award. It is named after the author Kurd Laßwitz, who is also known as “the father of German science-fiction”. The award has a tradition back until 1980. In two ballots persons who are specialists on science-fiction like authors, editors, publishers and journalists vote for the best works that have been published in the previous year. Nominations are for works in German language only or for translations into German.


Here are the nominations:

Best German science-fiction novel, published for the first time in 2013:

Dirk van den Boom, Kaiserkrieger (erster Zyklus; Roman in 6 Teilen), Atlantis
Dirk van den Boom, Eine Reise alter Helden (Die neunte Expansion, Band 1), Wurdack
Matthias Falke, Bran, Atlantis
Frank W. Haubold, Das Todes-Labyrinth (Götterdämmerung, Band 2), Atlantis
Wolfgang Jeschke, Dschiheads, Heyne (31491)
Claudia Kern, Homo Sapiens 404 (Staffel 1; 6 Teile), Rohde
Georg Klein, Die Zukunft des Mars, Rowohlt
Karsten Kruschel, Das Dickicht (Vilm, Band 4), Wurdack
Uwe Post, SchrottT, Atlantis
Hannes Stein, Der Komet, Galiani

Best German piece of short prosa:

Marcus Hammerschmitt, Im Krankenparlament in: Hilscher / Iwoleit (Hrsg.): Nova 21, Nova Verlag
Thorsten Küper, Grosvenors Räderwerk in: Moreau / Wipperfürth / Kemmler (Hrsg.): Exodus 30, Eigenverlag
Michael Marrak, Coen Sloterdykes diametral levitierendes Chronoversum in: Hilscher / Iwoleit (Hrsg.): Nova 21, Nova Verlag
Frank Neugebauer, Milch für den Schlangenkönig in: Moreau / Wipperfürth / Kemmler (Hrsg.): Exodus 30, Eigenverlag
Erik Simon, Der Gesang vom Stierkampf in: Simon: Zeitmaschinen, Spiegelwelten, Shayol
Norbert Stöbe, Rette mich in: Hilscher / Iwoleit (Hrsg.): Nova 21, Nova Verlag
Merlin Thomas, Operation Heal in: Haitel (Hrsg.): Blackburn, p.machinery (AndroSF 33)

Best foreign science-fiction book tranlated into German:

Paolo Bacigalupi, Versunkene Städte (The Drowned Cities), Heyne (53446)
Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter, Die lange Erde (The Long Earth), Goldmann Manhattan
Rob Reid, Galaxy Tunes® (Year Zero) Heyne (52991)
Kim Stanley Robinson, 2312 (2312) Heyne (31435)
Jo Walton, In einer anderen Welt (Among Others), Golkonda

Best science-fiction translation into German:

Andrea Bottlinger for the translation of Christie Golden, Heimkehr (Homecoming), Cross Cult
Juliane Gräbener-Müller for the translation of Lavie Tidhar, Osama (Osama), Rogner & Bernhard
Gerald Jung for the translation of Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter, Die lange Erde (The Long Earth), Golkonda
Bernhard Kempen for the translation of Rob Reid, Galaxy Tunes® (Year Zero), Heyne (52991)
Frauke Meier for the translation of Jack McDevitt & Mike Resnick, Das Cassandra-Projekt (The Cassandra Project) Bastei Lübbe (20729)
Hannes Riffel for the translation of Jo Walton, In einer anderen Welt (Among Others), Golkonda
Jakob Schmidt for the translation of Kim Stanley Robinson, 2312 (2312), Heyne (31435)
Margo Jane Warnken for the translation of Julie Phillips, James Tiptree Jr. – Das Doppelleben der Alice B. Sheldon (James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon), Septime

Best cover picture or illustration:

Lothar Bauer for the cover of: Enter Sandman, p.machinery
Pierangelo Boog for the cover of: Exodus 30, Eigenverlag
Martin Frei for the cover of: Peter David, Restauration (Star Trek New Frontier), Cross Cult
Timo Kümmel for the cover of: Bran, Atlantis
Thomas Thiemeyer for the cover of: phantastisch! 50, Atlantis

Best German audio play:

No nominations for this year

Special award for extraordinary achievements concerning science-fiction:

Klaus Bollhöfener and his team for 50 issues of the magazine phantastisch!

Frank G. Geringk for being editor of the picture book of Johnny Bruck, who had been illustrator of Perry Rhodan

Martin Kempf and his team of Fandom Observer for 300 issues in 25 years

Sascha Mamczak, Erik Simon and Hannes Riffel editing the works of the Strugatzkis for the publishing houses Golkonda und Heyne
Franz Rottensteiner for being the editor of the magazine Quarber Merkur for 50 years
Jürgen Schütz being the publisher of James Tiptree jr.´s complete works in German language

Previous articleNovedades de “Alfa Eridiani”
Next articleAliette de Bodard, Thomas Olde Heuvelt and Charles Stross finalists to the 2014 Hugo Awards !
Nina Horvath has studied at the University of Vienna. Her mother tongue is German. She is a keen author of short stories and published over two dozens in zines and anthologies. Her favourite genre is science-fiction. She had also been editor of the short story collections "Die Schattenuhr", "Metamorphosen - Auf den Spuren H.P. Lovecrafts" and "Darwins Schildkröte". In 2012 she won the awards "Vincent Preis" for the best horror anthology and the "Deutscher Phantastik Preis" for the best fantastic short story. (This one was also 3rd at the "DSFP" for the best science-fiction story.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.