Kurd Laßwitz Preis – German SF Award – Winners 2018

    The Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis is an annual German science-fiction award. (“Preis” is the German word for “award”.) It is named after the author Kurd Laßwitz, who is also known as “the father of German science-fiction”. The award has a tradition back until 1980. In two ballots persons who are specialists on science-fiction like authors, editors, publishers and journalists vote for the best works that have been published in the previous year. Nominations are for works in German language only or for translations into German.

    Here are the nominations:
    Best German Science-Fiction Novel (published for the first time in 2017):
    Michael Marrak: “Der Kanon mechanischer Seelen” (Amrûn)

    Best German Short Prosa:
    Uwe Hermann, Das Internet der Dinge in: Carsten Könneker : Spektrum der Wissenschaft 6/2017, (SPEKTRUM DER WISSENSCHAFT VERLAGSGESELLSCHAFT)

    Best Foreign Science-Fiction Book (translated into German):
    Nnedi Okorafor, Das Buch des Phönix (The Book of Phoenix) (CROSS CULT)

    Best Translation:
    Claudia Kern für die Übersetzung von Connie Willis, Dunkelheit / Licht (Blackout / All Clear), (CROSS CULT)

    Best Cover Art or Illustration:
    Lothar Bauer for the cover of Axel Kruse´s “Luna Incognita” (Atlantis)

    Best Radioplay:
    Die Prometheus-Protokolle by Thomas Feuerstein

    Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements:

    Thomas Le Blanc for founding and maintaining the Phantastische Bibliothek Wetzlar. (This is a library on speculative fiction.)


    Latest articles

    Related articles