Jamie Bishop Award for an essay not in English

    IAFA logo1

    The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts Announces its 8th annual Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for a critical essay on the fantastic written in a language other than English. The IAFA defines the fantastic to include science fiction, folklore, and related genres in literature, drama, film, art and graphic design, and related disciplines.
    For more information on the award and on past winners, please see (please note the updated submission criteria, below).
    Submission criteria:
    • Essays should be of high scholarly quality, as if for publication in an academic journal.
    • We consider essays from 3,000-10,000 words in length (including notes and bibliography).
    • Essays may be unpublished scholarship submitted by the author, or already published work nominated either by the author or another scholar (in which case the author’s permission should be obtained before submission).
    • Essays must have been written and (when applicable) published in the original language within the last three years prior to submission.
    • An abstract in English must accompany all submissions; an English translation of the title of the essay should also be included.
    • Only one essay per person may be submitted each year.
    • Submissions must be made electronically in Word format.

    Deadline for submissions: September 1st 2013
    Prize: $250 U.S. and one year’s free membership in the IAFA to be awarded at the annual International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts held each March. Winning essays may be posted on the IAFA website in the original language and/or considered for publication in the Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts ( should they be translated into English.

    Please direct all inquiries and submissions to:
    Rachel Haywood Ferreira
    Department of World Languages and Cultures
    3102 Pearson Hall
    Iowa State University
    Ames, IA 50011 USA



    Latest articles

    Related articles