Irish Literary Award IMPAC Dublin Longlist

    The nominations for the 2018 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award longlist have been announced, and include several works and authors of genre interest:

    The Core of the Sun, Johanna Sinisalo (Finland)

    The Extra-Terrestrial Delivery, Sudipta Das (India)

    Human Acts, Han Kang (South Korea)

    The Power, Naomi Alderman (UK)

    The Wonder, Emma Donogue (Canada)

    Vigil, Angela Slatter (Australia)

    Faithful, Alice Hoffman (US)
    LaRose, Louise Erdrich (US)
    The Regional Office Is Under Attack!, Manuel Gonzales (US)
    The Lost Time Accidents, John Wray (US)
    The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead (US)
    Moonglow, Michael Chabon (US)
    Scythe, Neal Shusterman (US)

    A total of 150 titles were nominated by libraries in 110 cities and 37 countries worldwide. The shortlist will be announced in April 2018, and the €100,000 prize winner will be announced June 13, 2018.

    The shortlist and winner are chosen by the 2018 judging panel.

    The International Dublin Literary Award (Irish: Duais Liteartha Idirnáisiúnta Bhaile Átha Chliath) is an international literary award presented each year for a novel written in English or translated into English.

    It aims to promote excellence in world literature and is solely sponsored by Dublin City Council, Ireland.

    At €100,000, the award is one of the richest literary prizes in the world.

    If the winning book is a translation (as it has been nine times), the prize is divided between the writer and the translator, with the writer receiving €75,000 and the translator €25,000.

    The first award was made in 1996 to David Malouf for his English language novel “Remembering Babylon”.

    Nominations are submitted by public libraries worldwide – over 400 library systems in 177 countries worldwide are invited to nominate books each year – from which the shortlist and the eventual winner are selected by an international panel of judges (which changes each year). The most recent winner of the award is José Eduardo Agualusa for “A General Theory of Oblivion”.


    Latest articles

    Related articles