Home Community Awards ESFS Nominations 2020

ESFS Nominations 2020


The European Science Fiction Society is an international organization of SF professionals and fans who are committed to promoting science-fiction in Europe and European science-fiction worldwide. The organization was founded at the first European Science Fiction Convention, Eurocon, which was held in 1972 in Trieste, Italy.

One of their aims is encouraging people who are active in SF-fandom with their award. The next awards will be decided at the Eurocon in Rijeka (Croatia) in October 2020, which will be as, due to obvious reasons, be mainly held online.

Hall of Fame Awards – Best Artist:

Croatia: Zdenko Bašić

Finland: Petri Hiltunen

France: Philippe CAZA

Ireland: Iain Clark

Luxembourg: Ken Barthelmey

Poland: Tomasz Maroński

Romania: Adrian Chifu

Russia: Sergey Shikin / Сергей Шикин

Spain: Enrique Corominas

Ukraine: Igor Barankoнько

Hall of Fame Awards – Best Author

Austria: Marc Elsberg

Croatia: Milena Benini

Finland: Johanna Sinisalo

France: Philippe Curval

Ireland: Maura McHugh

Italy: Francesco Verso

Luxembourg: Claude Peiffer

Poland: Anna Kańtoch

Romania: Gheorghe Sasarman

Russia: Victor Pelevin / Виктор Пелевин

Spain: José Carlos Somoza

Hall of Fame Awards – Best Publisher:

Austria: Ohneohren

Croatia: Hangar 7

France: L’Atalante

Italy: Zona 42

Luxembourg: Robert ‘Gollo’ Steffen

Poland: Wydawnictwo MAG

Romania: PAVCON

Russia: Fanzon

Spain: Crononauta

Hall of Fame Awards – Best Promoter:

Croatia: Vesna Kurilić.

France: Raymond Milesi

Ireland: Marguerite Smith

Italy: Deep Space One

Luxembourg: Gérard Kraus

Russia: Alexey Karavaev / Алексей Караваев

Spain: Cristina Jurado

Ukraine: Yuri Shevela

Hall of Fame Awards – Best Magazine:

Croatia: Sirius B

France: Gandahar

Italy: IF – Insolito e Fantastico

Romania: Helion

Russia: μ Cephei / Мю Цефея.

Spain: Tantrum

Hall of Fame Awards – Best Translator:

Croatia: Igor Rendić

France: Michelle Charrier

Italy: Silvia Castoldi

Romania: Silviu Genescu

Russia: Paweł Laudański for Poland

Spain: Pilar Ramírez Tello

Achievement Awards – Best Work of Art:

Austria: Däniken zum Schmunzel by Reinhard Habeck

Croatia: Other Worlds exhibition by Maja Strgar Kurečić

France: Utopiales19 book cover, by Mathieu Bablet

Ireland: The Dublin 2019 Hugo Award bases

Italy: Maurizio Manzieri – Poster for Cartoons on the bay

Luxembourg: Tow & Tank (Andy Genen)

Russia: Sergey Shikin for the cover of the anthology “Other Sky”

Spain: Art for La guerra de Dios. Artist: Juan Alberto Hernández

Sweden: Urtidsbilder by Simon Stålenhag

Achievement Awards – Best Work of Fiction:

Austria : Shape Me by Melanie Vogltanz

Croatia: Krsnik by Ana Cerovac

France: Trois hourras pour Lady Évangeline by Jean-Claude Dunyach

Ireland: Luna: Moon Rising (Luna #3) by Ian McDonald for the United Kingdom

Italy: No/Mad/Land by Francesco Verso

Luxembourg: The Harm Tree by Rose Edwards

Spain: Bionautas by Cristina Jurado

Achievement Awards – Best Dramatic Presentation:

Austria: Little Joe

Croatia: Slice of Life

Finland: Aniara for Sweden

France: Terra Willy – Planète inconnue

Ireland: Dr. Krell & The Carnyx of Terror

Italy: Good Omens

Luxembourg: Superjhemp Retörns

Russia: The Outbreak / Эпидемия

Spain: Klaus

Sweden: Aniara

Achievement Awards – Fanzine:

Austria: Super Pulp

Croatia: FantaSTine

France: Présences d’esprits

Ireland: Journey Planet

Luxembourg: Sci-Fan – Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Radio

Romania: ZIN

Russia: Aconitum / Аконит

Spain: Cuentos para Algernon, by Marchetto

Achievement Awards – Best Work for Children:

Austria: Thalamus by Ursula Poznanski

Croatia: Dvojnici iz Tame by Morea Banićević

France: Mers Mortes, by Aurélie Wellenstein

Ireland: The Invasion by Peadar Ó Guilín

Luxembourg: Illustrated Fairytales by Sabrina Kaufmann

Russia: Julia Ivanova. Cycle “Charovodjie” / Юлия Иванова, цикл романов “Чароводье”

Spain: Rapunzel con piojos by Miguel López

Achievement Awards – Best Internet Publication, other than a Fanzine:

Croatia: Decameron 2020

France: ActuSF

Ireland: The Irish Fandom Community Group on Facebook

Italy: Fantascientificast

Russia: Author’s blog of Vladimir Anikeev for Belarus

Spain: La nave invisible

Chrysalis Award:

(The Chrysalis Award is for authors/artists who first published three years or less before the current Eurocon. Unlike the former Achievement Award that had been replaced by the Chrysalis, age doesn´t matter.)

Austria: Caroline Hofstätter

Croatia: Zoe Penn

Finland: Edmund Schluessel

France: Chloé Veillard

Ireland: Oein DeBhairduin

Italy: Linda De Santi

Luxembourg: Jean Bürlesk

Romania: Diana Alzner

Russia: Olga Rejn / Ольга Рэйн

Spain: Haizea Zubieta

Ukraine: Volodymyr Kuznietsov


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.