Home News DSFP 2017: The Nominations

DSFP 2017: The Nominations


The Deutscher Science Fiction Preis (=DSFP) is an annual science-fiction award for the best short story and the best novel written in German language. Each winner is going to get a prize of 1000 euro cash, sponsored by the SFCD, Germany´s largest science-fiction club. The awarding ceremony will be at the UCon in Dortmund, Germany, this year´s Eurocon.

Here are the nominations for 2017:

Best Short Story In German Language:
»Die Stadt der XY« by Dirk Alt. In: Exodus 34. Ausgabe 04/2016.
»Suicide Rooms« by Gabriele Behrend. In: Exodus 35. Ausgabe 10/2016.
»Acapulco! Acapulco!« by Andreas Eschbach. In: Exodus 34. Ausgabe 04/2016.
»Vor dem Fest oder Brief an Mathilde« by Marcus Hammerschmitt. In: Nova 24.
»Das Netz der Geächteten« by Michael K. Iwoleit. In: »Gamer«. Editors: Armin Rößler, Frank Hebben and André Skora. Begedia Verlag 2016.
»Tubes Inc.« by Frank Lauenroth. In: »Hauptsache gesund!«. Editor: Ralf Boldt. p.machinery 2016.
»Korbball« by Ernst-Eberhard Manski. In: »Rund um die Welt in mehr als 80 SF-Geschichten«. Editor: Eric Schreiber. Saphir im Stahl Verlag Erik Schreiber 2016.

Best Novel In German Language:
»Die Welten der Skiir 1: Prinzipat« by Dirk van den Boom. Cross Cult 2016. 450 pages.
»Omni« by Andreas Brandhorst. Piper 2016. 560 pages.
»Der Bahnhof by Plön« by Christopher Eckert. Mitteldeutscher Verlag 2016. 400 pages.
»Helix« by Marc Elsberg. Blanvalet Verlag 2016. 648 pages.
»Teufelsgold« by Andreas Eschbach. Bastei Lübbe 2016. 512 pages.
»Vektor« by Jo Koren. Atlantis Verlag 2016. 190 pages

Previous articleNew Finnish Weird
Next articleNorwegian SF Short Story Competition – English Language
Nina Horvath has studied at the University of Vienna. Her mother tongue is German. She is a keen author of short stories and published over two dozens in zines and anthologies. Her favourite genre is science-fiction. She had also been editor of the short story collections "Die Schattenuhr", "Metamorphosen - Auf den Spuren H.P. Lovecrafts" and "Darwins Schildkröte". In 2012 she won the awards "Vincent Preis" for the best horror anthology and the "Deutscher Phantastik Preis" for the best fantastic short story. (This one was also 3rd at the "DSFP" for the best science-fiction story.)


    • Well, the jury is going to make this decision. I am not a part of this “inner circle”. If I had to bet, I would say that “Omni” will win as best novel. Can be wrong, but there are reasons to think that way.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.