Arthur C. Clarke Award: Shortlist 2016

    The annual Arthur C. Clarke Award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.

    The winner is judged by a jury panel and selected from an initial shortlist of six eligible novels. The panel of judges is made up of a voluntary body of distinguished writers, critics and fans with the panel line-up changing every year. The juries are drawn from such organisations as the British Science Fiction Association, the Science Fiction Foundation and the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.


    The six shortlisted books for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year published in 2015 are:
    The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton)
    Europe at Midnight – Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)
    The Book of Phoenix – Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder & Stoughton)
    Arcadia – Iain Pears (Faber & Faber)
    Way Down Dark – J.P. Smythe (Hodder & Stoughton)
    Children of Time – Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor)

    The 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a list of 113 individual eligible submissions, put forward by 41 different publishing houses and imprints.
    The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2016 are:
    David Gullen, British Science Fiction Association
    Ian Whates, British Science Fiction Association
    Liz Bourke, Science Fiction Foundation
    Andrew McKie, Science Fiction Foundation
    Leila Abu El Hawa, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

    The winner will be announced on Wednesday 24th August at a celebratory award ceremony held in partnership with Foyles, Charing Cross Road.
    The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2016.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.


    Latest articles

    Related articles