Home Around the Globe LocusMag

Whitehead Wins Library of Congress Prize

Colson Whitehead has been awarded the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction, which honors “an American literary writer whose body of work is distinguished not only for its mastery of the art but also for its originality of thought and imagination.” Whitehead, 50, is the youngest recipient of this lifetime achievement award, and was selected “based on nominations from more than 60 distinguished literary figures, including former winners of ...Read More

Steven Erikson: Undercurrents

Steve Rune Lundin, who writes fantasy as Steven Erikson, was born October 7, 1959 in Toronto, Canada, and grew up in Winnipeg. He trained as an anthropologist and archaeologist and is a graduate of the famed Iowa Writers’ Workshop; his thesis, a collection of linked stories, became his debut publication, A Ruin of Feathers (1991), written as Steve Lundin. He followed that with two more collections and debut novel This ...Read More

Weekly Bestsellers, 13 July 2020

Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic (Del Rey) debuts strongly on four lists. Title Debut / #wks on any list NYT 07.18 LAT 07.12 USAT 07.05 PW 07.13 Amz (07.13) UK:Amz UK (07.13) (07.13) Items on list -x- number of lists surveyed   10×3 10×2 150 15×3 100 100 100 Hardcovers Adeyemi, Children of Blood and Bone 03.12.18 / 120 6 -1 xxx.. xxx.. xxx.. xxx.. xxx.. xxx.. Adeyemi, Children of ...Read More

Katharine Coldiron Reviews House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

House of Earth and Blood, Sarah J. Maas (Bloomsbury 978-1-63557-404-3, $28.00, 816pp, hc) March 2020. Sarah J. Maas’s sales numbers make for a reputation that precedes her. Her YA novels, including A Court of Thorns and Roses and Throne of Glass, have sold millions of copies and made her a New York Times bestselling author many times over. Her fans are wild for her work, loyal and loving ...Read More

2019 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2019 Shirley Jackson Awards winners have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction, and were premiered on Sunday, July 12, 2020, as a pre-recorded ceremony. Novel WINNER: The Book of X, Sarah Rose Etter (Two Dollar Radio) Ninth House, Leigh Bardugo (Flatiron; Gollancz) Goodnight Stranger, Miciah Bay Gault (Park Row) Curious Toys, Elizabeth Hand (Mulholland) ...Read More