BSFA Shortlist Announced

    The British Science Fiction Association had announced the shortlist for the 2012 BSFA Awards:

    Best Novel

    Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus)

    Empty Space: a Haunting by M. John Harrison (Gollancz)

    Intrusion by Ken Macleod (Orbit)

    Jack Glass by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

    2312 by Kim Stanley-Robinson (Orbit)


    Best Short Story

    Immersion” by Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld #69)

    The Flight of the Ravens” by Chris Butler (Immersion Press)

    Song of the body Cartographer” by Rochita Loenen-Ruiz (Phillipines Genre Stories)

    Limited Edition” by Tim Maughan (1.3, Arc Magazine)

    Three Moments of an Explosion” by China Mieville (Rejectamentalist Manifesto)

    Adrift on the Sea of Rains” by Ian Sales (Whippleshield Books)


    Best Artwork

    Ben Baldwin for the cover of Dark Currents (Newcon Press)

    Blacksheep for the cover of Adam Roberts’s Jack Glass (Gollancz)

    Dominic Harman for the cover of Eric Brown’s Helix Wars (Rebellion)

    Joey Hifi for the cover of Simon Morden’s Thy Kingdom Come (Jurassic London)

    Si Scott for the cover artwork for Chris Beckett’s Dark Eden (Corvus)


    Best Non-Fiction

    The Complexity of the Humble Space Suit” by Karen Burnham (Rocket Science, Mutation Press)

    The Widening Gyre” by Paul Kincaid (Los Angeles Review of Books)

    The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature by Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)

    The Shortlist Project by Maureen Kincaid Speller

    The World SF Blog, Chief Editor Lavie Tidhar


    Latest articles

    Related articles