British Writer C.J.Sansom, Winner of the Sidewise Awards

    The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were conceived in late 1995 to honor the best allohistorical genre publications of the year. The awards were created by Steven H Silver, Evelyn C. Leeper, and Robert B. Schmunk. The first awards were announced in summer 1996 and honored works from 1995. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster’s 1934 short story “Sidewise in Time”, in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.
    The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History winners were announced at the 2013 Worldcon/LoneStarCon 2 in San Antonio, Texas, USA on August 31st :

    Long Form: “Dominion” by C. J. Sansom
    Short Form: “Something Real” by Rick Wilber

    Finalists for 2012 Sidewise Awards were :

    Best Long-Form Alternate History

    Thomas Brennan – “Doktor Glass”,  Ace 2012.

    Mark Hodder- “Expedition to the Mountains of the Moon”,  Pyr 2012. Also Snowbooks 2012.

    Jack McDevitt & Mike Resnick – “The Cassandra Project”,  Ace 2012.

    Matt Ruff.- “The Mirage”,  Harper 2012. Also Harper Perennial 2013.

    C.J. Sansom- “Dominion”,  Mantle 2012. Also Pan Macmillan 2012.
    Best Short-Form Alternate History

    Lou Antonelli – “Great White Ship”
    Posted on Daily Science Fiction, May 11, 2012.

    Sean McMullen – “Steamgothic”
    In InterZone #241 (Jul-Aug 2012).

    Ian Sales – “Adrift on the Sea of Rains”
    Whippleshield Books 2012.

    Catherynne Valente – “Fade to White”
    In Clarkesworld Magazine #71 (Aug 2012).

    Rick Wilber –  “Something Real”
    In Asimov’s Science Fiction, April 2012.

    Pics copyright©C.J.Sansom & Pan Macmillan


    Latest articles

    Related articles