An European, winner of the The John W. Campbell Memorial Award 2012 : Adam Roberts (UK)

    Adam Roberts 1

    The English writer Adam Roberts is the winner of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the Best Science Fiction Novel Published in 2012 with his “Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer” (Gollancz).

    Adam Roberts_Jack Glass

    The awards were presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 13-16, 2012 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, USA.

    Campbell Award Trophy

    The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the best science fiction novel of the year is one of the three major annual awards for science fiction.

    The first Campbell Award was presented at the Illinois Institute of Technology in 1973. Since then the Award has been presented in various parts of the world: at California State University at Fullerton; at St. John’s College, Oxford; at the World SF Writers Conference in Dublin; in Stockholm; at the World SF meeting in Dublin again; the University of Kansas; and in a joint event with the SFRA Convention in Kansas City in 2007.
    Since 1979, the Campbell Award has been presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, as the focal point of a weekend of discussions about the writing, illustration, publishing, teaching, and criticism of science fiction.
    The Award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine, now named Analog. John W.Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, is called by many writers and scholars the father of modern science fiction. Writers and critics Harry Harrison and Brian W. Aldiss established the award in Campbell’s name as a way of continuing his efforts to encourage writers to produce their best possible work.

    Between the finalists of this year edition are other seven relevant european SF writers, Iain M. Banks, Alastair Reynolds, M. John Harrison, Ken MacLeod, China Miéville, Hannu Rajaniemi, Charles Stross.

    Congratulations to all the finalists !

    Other finalists were as follows:
    • “The Hydrogen Sonata”, Iain M. Banks (Orbit)
    • “Blue Remembered Earth”, Alastair Reynolds (Ace)
    • “Empty Space”, M. John Harrison (Gollancz; Night Shade ’13)
    • “Intrusion”, Ken MacLeod (Orbit)
    • “Railsea”, China Miéville (Del Rey)
    • “The Fractal Prince”, Hannu Rajaniemi (Gollancz; Tor)
    • “The Rapture of the Nerds”, Cory Doctorow & Charles Stross
    • “2312”, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
    • “Any Day Now”, Terry Bisson (Overlook)
    • “Existence”, David Brin (Tor)
    • “Slow Apocalypse”, John Varley (Ace)
    • “Alif the Unseen”, G. Willow Wilson (Grove Press)

    Campbell Conference Poster-2013

    John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Science Fiction Novel :


    Latest articles

    Related articles