Aliette de Bodard, Thomas Olde Heuvelt and Charles Stross finalists to the 2014 Hugo Awards !

    The nominees for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer have been announced by LonCon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in London, U.K., August 14- 18, 2014.

    Aliette de Bodard la ProspectArt_iunie 2012

    Aliette de Bodard for the Best Novelette category with ‘‘The Waiting Stars’’ (The Other Half of the Sky :,

    Heuvelt_Ink Readers heuvelt

    Thomas Olde Heuvelt  for the Best Short Story category with ‘‘The Ink Readers of Doi Saket’’ ( 4/24/13 :

    Charles Stross Neptune s Brood Charles_Stross_internet puppy

    and Charles Stross with the novel “Neptune’s Brood” (Ace; Orbit UK) and the novella ‘‘Equoid’’ ( 9/24/13 : are between the finalists to the 2014 Hugo Awards.

    And a big hand to  Andy Cox for „Interzone”, one  of the best European SF Magazines (Best Semiprozine category finalist ) !

     Interzone 251_2014

    And to Dan Wells (finalist to the Best Novella category with  „The Butcher of Khardov”, Privateer Press) who currently resides in Stuttgart, Germany !

    Congratulations to all finalists !

    Aliette de Bodard is an award-winning speculative fiction writer, born in New York, grew up and resides in Paris, France. French is her mother-tongue, she writes in English.

    Aliette has won a Nebula Award, a Locus Award, a BSFA Award, as well as Writers of the Future. She has also been a finalist for the Hugo, Sturgeon, and Tiptree  Awards.

    She was a 2007 winner of Writers of the Future, and in 2009 was nominated for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. She has been published in Interzone, Hub magazine, Black Static, Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine, Asimov’s, Realms of Fantasy, Apex Magazine, among others. Her short story “The Shipmaker” won the 2010 British Science Fiction Award for Best Short Fiction and her short story “Immersion” won the 2012 Nebula Award and Locus Award for Best Short Story. Her novelette “The Jaguar House, in Shadow” was nominated for both the Nebula and Hugo Awards. Her short story “Shipbirth” was also nominated for the Nebula.

    Aliette de Bodard’s bibliography :


    Thomas Olde Heuvelt (born in 1983, in Nijmegen, Netherlands) is a Dutch writer whose short stories have received awards as the Paul Harland Prize, the Science Fiction & Fantasy Translation Awards and been nominated for the Hugo Award for Best Novelette.

    2005 : Paul Harland Prize (Debut Prize) for “De kronieken van een weduwnaar” (The Chronicles of a Widower)

    2009 : Paul Harland Prize (Winner) for “The Boy Who Cast No Shadow” (Dutch version)

    2012 : Paul Harland Prize (Winner) for “Fishbowl Universe” (Dutch version)

    2012 : Science Fiction & Fantasy Translation Awards (Honorable Mention, together with Carlos Ruiz Zafón) for “The Boy Who Cast No Shadow” (US)

    2013 Hugo Awards (Nomination) for “The Boy Who Cast No Shadow”


    Short Fiction in English

    2010 : “Harlequin on Dam Square” (Oxygen Books, UK)

    2012 : “The Boy Who Cast No Shadow” (PS Publishing, UK)

    2013 : “The Ink Readers of Doi Saket” (Tor Books, US)

    Novels in Dutch

    2002 : “De Onvoorziene”/The Unforeseen (Intes International)

    2004 : “PhantasAmnesia” (Intes International)

    2008 : “Leerling Tovenaar Vader & Zoon”/Apprentice Magician Father & Son (Luitingh-Sijthoff)

    2011 : “Harten Sara”/Sara of the Hearts (Luitingh-Sijthoff)

    2013 : “HEX” (Luitingh-Sijthoff)


    Charles David George “Charlie” Stross (born 18 October 1964, in Leeds, England) is a British writer of science fiction, Lovecraftian horror and fantasy. Stross specialises in hard science fiction and space opera.

    “Accelerando” won the 2006 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. “Missile Gap” won the 2007 Locus Award for best novella. “The Concrete Jungle” (contained in “The Atrocity Archives”) won the Hugo Award for best novella in 2005, and “Palimpsest”, included in Wireless, won the same award in 2010. Stross’s work has also been nominated for a number of other awards, including the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, Arthur C. Clarke Award, and the Hugo Award for Best Novel, as well as the Japanese Seiun Award.

    Charles Stross’ bibliography :

    Pics : courtesy of Aliette de Bodard, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Orbit, Tor and Interzone. Thank you !


    Latest articles

    Related articles