2019 World Fantasy Awards Winners

    The World Fantasy Awards winners for works published in 2018 have been announced. The awards were presented November 3, 2019 during World Fantasy 2019 (WFC) at the Marriott Los Angeles Airport Hotel in Los Angeles CA.

    The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, went to Hayao Miyazaki and Jack Zipes.

    Image result for 2019 World Fantasy Awards

    The World Fantasy Awards winners are:

    Best Novel

    • WINNER: Witchmark, C.L. Polk ( Publishing)

    Best Novella

    Best Short Fiction (tie)

    • WINNER: “Ten Deals with the Indigo Snake”, Mel Kassel (Lightspeed 10/18)
    • WINNER: “Like a River Loves the Sky”, Emma Törzs (Uncanny 3-4/18)
    • “The Ten Things She Said While Dying: An Annotation”, Adam-Troy Castro (Nightmare 7/19)
    • “A Witch’s Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies”, Alix E. Harrow (Apex 2/18)
    • “The Court Magician”, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed 1/18)

    Best Anthology

    Best Collection

    Best Artist

    • WINNER: Rovina Cai
    • Galen Dara
    • Jeffrey Alan Love
    • Shaun Tan
    • Charles Vess

    Special Award – Professional

    • C.C. Finlay, for F&SF editing
    • Irene Gallo, for Art Direction at Tor Books and
    • Catherine McIlwaine for Tolkien: Maker of Middle-earth exhibition (The Bodleian Libraries at the University of Oxford)
    • Molly Barton, Jeff Li, James Stuart & Julian Yap for Serial Box

    Special Award – Non-Professional

    • WINNER: Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
    • Mike Allen, for Mythic Delirium
    • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
    • E. Catherine Tobler, for Shimmer
    • Terri Windling, for Myth & Moor

    This year’s judges were Nancy Holder, Kathleen Jennings, Garry Douglas Kilworth, Stephen Graham Jones, and Tod McCoy.

    For more information, see the WFC website.


    Latest articles

    Related articles