2019 British Fantasy Awards Winners

    The British Fantasy Society announced the winners for the 2019 British Fantasy Awards on October 20, 2019 during FantasyCon 2019 at the Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel in Glasgow, Scotland.

    Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

    Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

    Best Novella

    Best Short Story

    • WINNER: “Down Where Sound Comes Blunt”, G.V. Anderson (F&SF 3-4/18)
    • “Telling Stories”, Ruth EJ Booth (The Dark 12/18)
    • “Her Blood the Apples, Her Bones the Trees”, Georgina Bruce (The Silent Garden)
    • “In the Gallery of Silent Screams”, Carole Johnstone & Chris Kelso (Black Static 9-10/18)
    • “A Son of the Sea”, Priya Sharma (All the Fabulous Beasts)
    • “Thumbsucker”, Robert Shearman (New Fears 2)

    Best Collection

    Best Anthology

    Best Independent Press

    • WINNER: Unsung Stories
    • Fox Spirit
    • Luna
    • NewCon

    Best Non-Fiction

    • WINNER: Noise and Sparks, Ruth EJ Booth (Shoreline of Infinity)

    Best Magazine / Periodical

    • WINNER: Uncanny
    • Black Static
    • Ginger Nuts of Horror
    • Interzone
    • Shoreline of Infinity

    Best Artist

    • WINNER: Vince Haig
    • David Rix
    • Daniele Serra
    • Sophie E Tallis

    Best Comic / Graphic Novel

    Best Audio

    • WINNER: Breaking the Glass Slipper Podcast
    • Bedtime Stories for the End of the World Podcast
    • Blood on Satan’s Claw, Mark Morris (Bafflegab)
    • PodCastle
    • PsuedoPod

    Best Film / Television Production

    • WINNER: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
    • Annihilation
    • Avengers: Infinity War
    • Black Panther
    • The Haunting of Hill House
    • Inside No. 9, series 4

    Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)

    Ian Whates received the Karl Edward Wagner Award, a “special award for contribution to genre.” Winners were chosen by jury, except for the Karl Edward Wagner Award, which was chosen by the BFS committee.


    Latest articles

    Related articles