2016 British Science Fiction Awards Winners

    The winners for the 2016 British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Awards were announced at the 68th Eastercon, Innominate, held April 14-17, 2017 at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel in Birmingham, Great Britain.

    Best Novel

    Europe in Winter – Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)

    Shortlisted works were:
    Daughter of Eden, Chris Beckett (Gollancz)
    A Closed and Common Orbit, Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton)
    Occupy Me, Tricia Sullivan (Gollancz)
    Azanian Bridges, Nick Wood (NewCon)

    Best Short Story
    “Liberty Bird” – Jaine Fenn (Now We Are Ten)

    Shortlisted works were:
    “The End of Hope Street”, Malcolm Devlin (Interzone 9-10/16)
    “Taking Flight”, Una McCormack (Crises and Conflicts)
    “Presence”, Helen Oyeyemi (What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours)
    “The Apologists”, Tade Thompson (Interzone 9-10/16)
    The Arrival of Missives, Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)

    Best Artwork

    Cover for Lavie Tidhar’s Central Station, Sarah Anne Langton (Tachyon)

    Shortlisted works were:
    Cover for Ian Watson’s The 1000 Year Reich, Juan Miguel Aguilera (NewCon)
    “Transition”, Tara Bush (Black Static 7-8/16)
    Cover for Jenni Fagan’s The Sunlight Pilgrims, Suzanne Dean and Kai & Sunny (William Heinemann)
    Cover for David L. Clements’s Disturbed Universes, David A Hardy (NewCon)
    Cover for Alastair Reynolds’s The Iron Tactician, Chris Moore (NewCon)

    Best Non-Fiction

    “100 African Writers of SFF“ – Geoff Ryman ( 7/6/16, 11/1/16)

    Shortlisted works were:
    “THEN: Science Fiction Fandom in the UK 1930-1980“, Rob Hansen (Ansible Editions)
    “Boucher, Backbone and Blake: The Legacy of Blakes Seven“, Erin Horáková (Strange Horizons 8/22/16)
    “Breaking the Cycle of the Golden Age: Jack Glass and Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy”, Anna McFarlane (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays)
    “New Model Authors? Authority, Authordom, Anarchism and the Atomized Text in a Networked World”, Paul Graham Raven (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays)
    “Introduction to The Big Book of Science Fiction“, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer (The Big Book of Science Fiction)

    The awards are voted on by members of BSFA and the British Annual Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon).

    For more information, see the BSFA website.



    Latest articles

    Related articles