2015 BSFA Award Finalists (UK)


    The British Science Fiction Association has announced the shortlist for the 2015 BSFA Awards.

    Best Novel:


    • The House of Shattered Wings – Aliette de Bodard (France)
    • Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson (UK)
    • Luna: New Moon by Ian McDonald (UK)
    • Glorious Angels by Justina Robson (UK)
    • Mother of Eden by Chris Becket (UK)

    Best Short Fiction:

    • Aliette de Bodard for “Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight”, published in Clarkesworld 100
    • Gareth L. Powell for “Ride the Blue Horse”, published by Matter
    • Paul Cornell for “Witches of Lychford”, published by
    • Jeff Noon for “No Rez”, published in Interzone 260
    • Nnedi Okorafor for “Binti”, published by

    Best Artwork:

    • Jim Burns, Cover of Pelquin’s Comet, Newcon Press
    • Vincent Sammy: “Songbird”, Interzone 257
    • Sarah Anne Langton: Cover of Jews Versus Zombies, Jurassic London

    Best Non-Fiction:

    • Nina Allan: “Time Pieces: Doctor Change or Doctor Die”, Interzone 261 (UK)
    • Jonathan McCalmont: “What Price Your Critical Agency”, Ruthless Culture. (UK)
    • Adam Roberts: Rave and Let Die: The SF and Fantasy of 2014, Steel Quill Books (UK)
    • Alisa Krasnostein and Alexandra Pierce: Letters to Tiptree, Twelfth Planet Press (US)
    • Jeff Vandermeer: “From Annihilation to Acceptance: a Writer’s Surreal Journey”, The Atlantic, January 2015 (US)

    The BSFA Awards are presented annually by the British Science Fiction Association, based on a vote of BSFA members and – in recent years – members of the British national science fiction convention Eastercon. They are fan awards that not only seek to honour the most worthy examples in each category, but to promote the genre of science fiction, and get people reading, talking about and enjoying all that contemporary science fiction has to offer.

    BSFA members will now be able to vote on the shortlist to decide the winners. The voting form for advance votes will be made available shortly after this announcement is made public.

    Attending members of Eastercon will also be able to vote on the shortlist, and ballots will be made available at the convention at the BSFA desk. Voting at the convention will be allowed up to midday on Saturday 26th March.

    The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held on the evening of Saturday 26th March at the Hilton Deansgate, Manchester, during Mancunicon, the 67th British National Science Fiction Convention, otherwise known as Eastercon.



    Latest articles

    Related articles