On the spot

2013 SF&F Translation Award Finalists


The Association for the Recognition of Excellence in SF & F Translation (ARESFFT) announced the finalists for the 2013 Science Fiction and Fantasy Translation Awards (for works published in 2012) at Finncon 2013.

The nominees were announced at Finncon 2013 in Helsinki, over the weekend of July 6-7 during a discussion about international science fiction.

ARESFFT Board member Cheryl Morgan and jury member Stefan Ekman, who was a Guest of Honor at Finncon, were present, as was Short Form nominee, Karin Tidbeck. Other countries represented at Finncon this year include Latvia, Estonia, Russia, China, France, Canada, the UK, and the USA.
The jury for the awards : James & Kathryn Morrow (Chairs); Felice Beneduce, Alexis Brooks de Vita, Stefan Ekman, Martha Hubbard, Ekaterina Sedia, Kari Sperring, and Aishwarya Subramanian.
We’re glad to announce that a lot of great translators as Olena Bormashenko, Danièle Chatelain & George Slusser, Victoria Cribb, Antonia Lloyd-Jones, Coral Petkovich, Tatjana Jambrišak are between the finalists for the translations from some great european writers as Arkady & Boris Strugatsky, J.-H. Rosny Aîné, Sjón, Karin Tidbeck, Janusz Korczak, Csilla Kleinheincz, Zoran Vlahovic, Selvedin Avdic.

Long Form

Roadside Picnic
”Roadside Picnic” by Arkady & Boris Strugatsky, translated from the Russian by Olena Bormashenko (Chicago Review Press)

Three Science Fiction Novella_Rosny Aine

”Three Science Fiction Novellas” by J.-H. Rosny Aîné, translated from the French by Danièle Chatelain & George Slusser (Wesleyan University Press)
Sijon_The Wispering Muse

”The Whispering Muse” by Sjón, translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb (Telegram)
Janusz Korczak_Kaytek_the_Wizard

„Kaytek the Wizard” by Janusz Korczak, translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones (Penlight)

Seven Terrors
”Seven Terrors” by Selvedin Avdic, translated from the Bosnian by Coral Petkovich (Istro Books)

”Atlas: The Archaeology of an Imaginary City” by Kai-cheung Dung, translated from the Chinese by Anders Hansson, Bonnie S. McDougall, & the author (Columbia University Press)
”Belka, Why Don’t You Bark?” by Hideo Furukawa, translated from the Japanese by Michael Emmerich (Haikasoru)

Short Form
Karin Tidbeck_Jagannath

“Augusta Prime” by Karin Tidbeck, translated from the Swedish by the author (Jagannath: Stories)

Apex Book of World SF
 “A Single Year” by Csilla Kleinheincz, translated from the Hungarian by the author (The Apex Book of World SF #2)

Kontakt_SF croatian anthology

“Every Time We Say Goodbye” by Zoran Vlahovic, translated from the Croatian by Tatjana Jambrišak, Goran Konvicni, & the author (Kontakt: An Anthology of Croatian SF)

“Autogenic Dreaming: Interview with the Columns of Cloud” by Tobi Hirokata, translated from the Japanese by Jim Hubbert (The Future Is Japanese)
“The Flower of Shazui”by Chen Qiufan, translated from the Chinese by Ken Liu (Interzone #243)
“A Hundred Ghosts Parade Tonight”by Xia Jia, translated from the Chinese by Ken Liu (Clarkesworld #65)

Each winning author and translator will receive a cash prize of $350. The winners will be announced in August. Congratulations to all finalists !


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button