2013 Hugo Award Winners

Încorporare legătură permanentă imagine

The 2013 Hugo Award winners were announced at the LoneStarCon 3/2013 Worldcon on Sunday evening, September 1st, at the Marriott Rivercenter Hotel in San Antonio, Texas, USA.
The Guests of Honor had been Ellen Datlow, James Gunn, Willie Siros, Norman Spinrad, Darrell K. Sweet, the Toastmaster: Paul Cornell, the Special Guests: Leslie Fish & Joe R. Lansdale.

Marriott Rivercenter Hotel in San Antonio, Texas, USA

The ceremony was hosted by LoneStarCon 3 Toastmaster Paul Cornell and broadcast live via Ustream with additional live text coverage via CoverItLive :

Best Novel: “Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas” by John Scalzi (Tor)
Best Novella: “The Emperor’s Soul” by Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon Publications)
Best Novelette: “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi” by Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity, Solaris)
Best Short Story: “Mono no aware” by Ken Liu (The Future is Japanese, VIZ Media LLC)
Best Related Work: “Writing Excuses, Season 7” by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson
Best Graphic Story: “Saga, Volume 1” written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): “The Avengers” Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount)
Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): “Game of Thrones”: “Blackwater” Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)
Best Editor – Short Form: Stanley Schmidt
Best Editor – Long Form: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
Best Professional Artist: John Picacio
Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker
Best Fanzine: SF Signal edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester
Best Fancast: SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters), and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)
Best Fan Writer: Tansy Rayner Roberts
Best Fan Artist: Galen Dara
The John W. Campbell Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2011 or 2012, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award): Mur Lafferty

Hugo Award 2013 logo

The 2013 Hugo trophy base was designed and cast in bronze by Texan sculptor Vincent Villafranca.

© “World Science Fiction Society”, “WSFS”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Worldcon”, “NASFiC”, “Hugo Award”, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.
Pics © World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) :

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button