2013 British Fantasy Awards Finalists

    BFS logo1

    The British Fantasy Awards are administered annually by the British Fantasy Society (BFS) and were first awarded in 1976. Prior to that they were known as The August Derleth Fantasy Awards.
    First awarded in 1972 (“The Knight of Swords” by Michael Moorcock) only for novels, the number of award categories increased and in 1976 the BFS renamed them collectively the British Fantasy Awards. The current award categories are Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Small Press, Best Artist, Best Anthology, Best Collection, while the Karl Edward Wagner Award is given at the discretion of the BFS committee. The membership of the BFS vote to determine recommendations, short-lists and winners of the awards.
    The finalists for the 2013 British Fantasy Awards are undermentioned. Four nominees in each category were decided by a vote of the members of the British Fantasy Society and the attendees of FantasyCon 2012, with up to two further nominees in each category being added by the juries as “egregious omissions”. The exception is the Best Newcomer category, in which all authors under consideration were put forward by voters.

    Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

    “Blood and Feathers”, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
    “The Brides of Rollrock Island”, Margo Lanagan (David Fickling Books)
    “Railsea”, China Miéville (Macmillan)
    “Red Country”, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
    “Some Kind of Fairy Tale”, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

    Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

    “The Drowning Girl”, Caitlin R. Kiernan (Roc)
    “The Kind Folk”, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
    “Last Days”, Adam Nevill (Macmillan)
    “Silent Voices”, Gary McMahon (Solaris)
    “Some Kind of Fairy Tale”, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

    Best Novella

    “Curaré”, Michael Moorcock (Zenith Lives!) (Obverse Books)
    “Eyepennies”, Mike O’Driscoll (TTA Press)
    “The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine”, John Llewellyn Probert (Spectral Press)
    “The Respectable Face of Tyranny”, Gary Fry (Spectral Press)

    Best Short Story
    “Our Island”, Ralph Robert Moore (Where Are We Going?) (Eibonvale Press)
    “Shark! Shark !” Ray Cluley (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)
    “Sunshine”, Nina Allan (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)
    “Wish for a Gun”, Sam Sykes (A Town Called Pandemonium) (Jurassic London)

    Best Collection

    “From Hell to Eternity”, Thana Niveau (Gray Friar Press)
    “Remember Why You Fear Me”, Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)
    “Where Furnaces Burn”, Joel Lane (PS Publishing)
    “The Woman Who Married a Cloud”, Jonathan Carroll (Subterannean Press)

    Best Anthology

    “A Town Called Pandemonium”, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)
    “Magic: an Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane”, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)
    “The Mammoth Book of Ghost Stories” by Women, Marie O’Regan (ed.) (Robinson)
    “Terror Tales of the Cotswolds”, Paul Finch (ed.) (Gray Friar Press)

    Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award)
    ChiZine Publications (Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi)
    Gray Friar Press (Gary Fry)
    Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)
    TTA Press (Andy Cox)

    Best Non-Fiction
    Ansible, David Langford
    The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (eds) (Cambridge University Press)
    Coffinmaker’s Blues, Stephen Volk (Black Static) (TTA Press)
    Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin (ed.)
    Pornokitsch, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds)
    Reflections: On the Magic of Writing, Diana Wynne Jones (David Fickling Books)

    Best Magazine/Periodical
    Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
    Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
    SFX, David Bradley (ed.) (Future Publishing)
    Shadows and Tall Trees, Michael Kelly (ed.) (Undertow Publications)

    Best Artist
    Ben Baldwin
    David Rix
    Les Edwards
    Sean Phillips
    Vincent Chong

    Best Comic/Graphic Novel
    Dial H, China Miéville, Mateus Santolouco, David Lapham and Riccardo Burchielli (DC Comics)
    Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
    The Unwritten, Mike Carey, Peter Gross, Gary Erskine, Gabriel Hernández Walta, M.K. Perker, Vince Locke and Rufus Dayglo (DC Comics/Vertigo)
    The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Skybound Entertainment/Image Comics)

    Best Screenplay
    Avengers Assemble, Joss Whedon
    Sightseers, Alice Lowe, Steve Oram and Amy Jump
    The Cabin in the Woods, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard
    The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro

    Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)
    Alison Moore, for “The Lighthouse” (Salt Publishing)
    Anne Lyle, for “The Alchemist of Souls” (Angry Robot)
    E.C. Myers, for “Fair Coin” (Pyr)
    Helen Marshall, for “Hair Side, Flesh Side” (ChiZine Publications)
    Kim Curran, for “Shift” (Strange Chemistry)
    Lou Morgan, for “Blood and Feathers” (Solaris)
    Molly Tanzer, for “A Pretty Mouth” (Lazy Fascist Press)
    Saladin Ahmed, for “Throne of the Crescent Moon” (Gollancz)
    Stephen Bacon, for “Peel Back the Sky” (Gray Friar Press)
    Stephen Blackmoore, for “City of the Lost” (Daw Books)

    The winners of these categories will now be decided by the following juries.

    Main jury, deciding the categories of fantasy novel, horror novel, novella, short story, collection, anthology, magazine/periodical, comic/graphic novel and screenplay: Esther Sherman, Matthew Hughes, Neil Williamson, Pauline Morgan and Ros Jackson. Best non-fiction: Djibril al-Ayad, Jason Arnopp and Roz Kaveney. Best artist: Daniele Serra, P.M. Buchan and Rachel Kendall. Best small press: Elaine Hillson, Elloise Hopkins, Dave Brzeski, Rachel Kendall and Rhian Bowley. Best newcomer: Adele Wearing, Alison Littlewood, Jim Steel, Lizzie Barrett and Peter Tennant.
    The winners of each of these awards, as well as the winner of the Karl Edward Wagner Award (a special award decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee) and the World Fantasy Awards, will be announced at the Fantasy Awards banquet at the World Fantasy Convention in Brighton on Sunday, November 3, 2013.

    British Fantasy Society_logo
    British Fantasy Society :


    Latest articles

    Related articles