2012 World Fantasy Award Winners

    The 2012 World Fantasy Awards, held on November 4th in Toronto, Canada revealed some surprises.

    The World Fantasy award for best novel went to Lavie Tidhar’s “Osama”, published by British small press PS Publishing. Tidhar’s story, said to stretch the boundaries of the genre, beat out stiff competition from Stephen King’s “11/22/63”, George RR Martin’s “A Dance With Dragons”, Jo Walton’s “Among Others” and Christopher Buehiman’s “Those Across the River”.

    Below is a full list of nominees and winners of the 2012 World Fantasy Awards:

    Winner: • Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

    Those Across the River, Christopher Buehlman (Ace)

    11/22/63, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton as 11.22.63)

    A Dance with Dragons, George R.R. Martin (Bantam; Harper Voyager UK)

    Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)


    Winner: “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong,” K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)

    • “Near Zennor,” Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)

    • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet,” Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)

    • “Rose Street Attractors,” Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight)

    •  “Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA Press; Clarkesworld)

Short FictionWinner:  “The Paper Menagerie,” Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)

    • “X for Demetrious,” Steve Duffy (Blood and Other Cravings)
• “Younger Women,” Karen Joy Fowler (Subterranean Summer 2011)

    • “A Journey of Only Two Paces,” Tim Powers (The Bible Repairman and Other Stories)
• “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees,” E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 4/11)

    AnthologyWinner: The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)

    Lavie Tidhar wins 2012 World Fantasy Award for best novel, "Osama"

    Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)

    A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher Books)

    The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Harper Voyager US)

    Gutshot, Conrad Williams, ed. (PS Publishing)

CollectionWinner: The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, Tim Powers (Tachyon)

    •  Bluegrass Symphony, Lisa L. Hannett (Ticonderoga)

    Two Worlds and In Between, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean Press)

    •  After the Apocalypse, Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer)
• Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, Reggie Oliver (Tartarus)

    ArtistWinner: John Coulthart

    •  Julie Dillon

    •  Jon Foster

    •  Kathleen Jennings

    •  John Picacio

    Special Award ProfessionalWinner: Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books

    •  John Joseph Adams, for editing – anthology and magazine

    •  Jo Fletcher, for editing – Jo Fletcher Books

    •  Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications

    •  Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

    Special Award Non-ProfessionalWinner: Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press

    •  Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld

    •  Cat Rambo, for Fantasy

    •  Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog

    •  Mark Valentine, for Wormwood


    2012 World Fantasy Awards and Lifetime Achievement winners included Alan Garner and the prolific and well-loved George R. R. Martin.


    Latest articles

    Related articles